Continued Professional Development & CPD Accreditation Committee

01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019


Dr Joseph van Heerden  - Chairperson

One other member: Prof D Holm

Expertise would be co-opted as and when required by the applications for CPD accreditation received


Meeting dates: The CPD Accreditation Committee consists of two members and liaise electronically.


All applications for activity accreditation should be submitted to Lenora Erasmus on   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. following the guidelines as outlined in [ADD LINK]


Standing Review Committee

01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019


Dr AP de Vos [Chairperson]

Ms K Mogale - A Councillor with knowledge of law

Prof V Naidoo - A person with knowledge of legislation relating to medicines

Chairpersons of-

The Food Safety and Security Committee, Dr PT Oberem

The Investigation Committee, Dr GAP Carlisle

The Registration and Authorisation Committee, Sr T Lötter

The Inspections Committee, Dr JR Adam


Code of Conduct and Practice 01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019
(This also falls under the Review Committee)

Members may contact the administration directly at Tel: 27(12) 345 6360 Fax: 27 (12) 345 6369  should they wish to submit any proposals for updating the Code of Conduct and Practice for Veterinarians.


Food Security standing Committee

01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019


Dr PT Oberem - Chairperson and industry representativee

Dr CP Marwick - President

Prof V Naidoo - Medicines expert

Dr CC  Nkuna - Representative of the Animal Health Forum to be co-opted

Mr T Zokufa - Industry representative [meat hygiene]

Dr JR Adam - Representing private practice veterinarians

Prof M Van Vuuren

Dr MSM Molefe - DAFF

The Chairperson would co-opt other Councillors


Heritage Committee

01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019


Dr AP de Vos - Chairperson

Dr A Snijders - SAVA

Dr P Mutowembwa - BVF

Dr C Mnqeta - DAFF


The Standards Committee

February 2015 - 31 Jul 2016

Prof Vinny Naidoo (chairperson)

Mr JJ Müller

Sr T Lötter

Dr K Joubert


Public Relations Joint committee

01 August 2016 - 31 Jul 2019

Dr Clive Marwick in liaison with other stakeholders


Links to African Council websites

Veterinary Statutory Bodies in Africa

Veterinary Council of Namibia

Veterinary Council of Zimbabwe (department of livestock and veterinary services)

Kenya Veterinary Board

Veterinary Council of Tanzania

Botswana Veterinary Association

You are here: Home